Rooftop Farming

I have recently started some rooftop gardening at my home in Kathmandu. We have an unused terrace at the very top of our home where the water-tanks are stationed. Over there I have placed 6 styrofoam crates filled with soil, where vegetables are going to be planted soon.  I have also bought 6 fruit trees (lemon, kumquat, mango and pomegranate) which are placed in 30 liter water drums. I am in contact with few permaculturists who have tried rooftop gardening and I hope to get some good advice from them.

Also I am planning to install a drip irrigation system to feed the plants economically and effortlessly. I also hope to build a water collection system.

I’ve been really inspired by Purna Organics in Bangalore and hope to learn more from their expertise.

More information and pictures will soon be published.

Leave a Reply

