Water from Air

I have recently discovered it is possible to generate water from air from a project in Lima, Peru.


I knew it was possible, but I didn’t know it was already implemented as a fully functional system. I find this pretty exciting because it reminds me of a story that really inspired me to do what I do today with Open Biotecture, the novel “Dune” by Frank Herbert. In Dune, the Fremen are a desert people on a desert planet, where water is the most valuable commodity to them. They collect water from air using “wind traps”, and store it preciously in underground tanks.
Now having learned this I am looking at some simple DIY water-from-air solution and in few clicks I found the Internet is already replete of interesting ideas. For instance this example on Instructables shows how to build one from a dehumidifier. I am curious as to how many watts are required to run this system, I would love to try this at home, feeding the dehumidifier with solar panels for instance. I am quickly going to investigate possibilities. Please keep posting your suggestions and ideas.

One response to “Water from Air

  1. Pingback: Atmospheric Water Generator | Open Biotecture·

Leave a Reply

